Please Stay Awhile

We’re meant to use this blog to track our novel progress, but also to talk about things that inspire us and that push us to wake up in the morning. For me, that’s music.

Right now, I’ve just been falling in love with the song “Stay” by Florida-Georgia Line.

Yes, I like country music. And say what you want, but I guarantee you that everyone knows and likes at least one country song. I guarantee it.

As I’ve said earlier, I love hard. It’s because I’m not very good at expressing my feelings or myself and I get moody when other people can’t just read my mind and figure it out for themselves. I think I get that from my dad.

But anyway, this song really talks about that, and I really love the message.

“But if I told you I loved you, would it make you want to stay?
I’m sorry for the way I hurt you and making you walk away.”

Since it’s so difficult for me to talk about things, I kind of just push them away and it’s awful because I know I’m doing it and I can feel myself becoming more and more alone, but I don’t know how to stop it. I guess it’s true that running away is easier than facing things head-on.

And it’s just another reason that I love music so much: because it teaches me about myself.

Don’t get me wrong, I love writing and I feel like I have a lot to express and offer the world, but I’m just not really the best with communicating and words. For me, using other peoples’ words really helps relieve that burden. It gives me a way to connect with people. It inspires me to connect with people. It makes me WANT to connect with people.

Leave a Reply

