An Artistic Ailment

This year, I’ve been rather healthy.  Usually, I catch a cold in fall, which, after I recover from, comes back in the winter, and that’s just two seasons, never mind all the other discomforts that spring and summer bring.  However, when nature isn’t making an assault physically, it finds a way to besiege me mentally.  After a thorough scouring of the Internet (which may or may not have included WebMD), I have to say that it’s true: I’ve come down with a rather nasty case of writer’s block.

7979853050_c54236c7ba_z
Picture credits to Khalid Albaih on Flickr. Link to Flickr at the bottom.

Writer’s block is a state of being in which one is not inspired to write anything whatsoever.  It’s the horrible, listless feeling that might begin once one has written a number of fantastic pieces, or maybe it strikes when one is discouraged and has already suffered a long bout of stagnation.  Writer’s block does not discriminate; it can happen to anyone, anywhere, and anytime.  Unfortunately, there’s no known general treatment for writer’s block; each case must be addressed individually, because what cures writer’s block for one patient may not be the best choice for someone else.  Nevertheless, I will list the ways I have tried to cope with writer’s block:

1)  Read.  When I read, sometimes I pick up small literary techniques or words that I’d want to use in my own writing.  Other times, I identify themes that are prevalent in the book, and discuss a theme or multiple themes throughout the book.

2}  Watch a movie.  This goes along with reading a bit because again, I can be inspired to write about themes in a movie.  Also, I like to compare and contrast movies and books; I know that the two shouldn’t be exactly the same, but it’s actually pretty fun to point out the differences and comment on what worked well and what didn’t.

3)  Go outside (which means get off the computer).  There’s a lot of things outside just waiting to be noticed.

4)  Do something else in the meanwhile.  Maybe inspiration is waiting in that pile of laundry that’s been sitting in the corner for who knows how long.

5)  Don’t give up on writing.  Some inspiration will come eventually: healing is a long, annoying process, but keep at it.

 

https://www.flickr.com/photos/khalidalbaih/

 

Leave a Reply

