Just A Chance That Maybe We’ll Find Better Days

Wow, can you say “superlongandunnecessarytitle” three time fast? Because, apparently, I sure can.

Okay, I think you guys know how much I love music, and I’ve always liked The Goo Goo Dolls.
Recently, I heard a great song by them again and it really made me think about myself and human nature, especially since the holiday season is starting (as I’ve been so diligently reminding you in every single blog post).
The song is called Better Days, and I’m linking it below; I want you to just listen to it before reading the rest of this post.


I just really love this song because I feel it’s so relevant to my life right now and to the world right now.

Kind of segue-ing into what I was talking about before: As living creatures, all humans want is to reproduce and pass on their genes into further generations.
But people? That’s not what they want.. or at least that’s not the only thing they want.

People want to feel good. They want to feel warm and gooey inside. They want to feel loved, and to be happy.

And when something goes wrong, they look for an eraser – something to take their mind off of it, something to make pretending that it never happened easier.

For some people, it’s drugs, alcohol, meaningless sex, or drowning his to herself in a giant vat of ice cream. For others, it’s “a fresh start”. It’s a new town, a new restaurant, a new attitude, or a new year.

Anyway, the point I wanted to make was New Year’s. It’s really not even that big a deal. It’s a just a way scientists measure our time on Earth. It doesn’t really mean anything.

Except that it means everything. It’s the hope for a better tomorrow; it’s the faith in the ultimate fresh start; it’s the promise of better days.

Leave a Reply

