The Best of 2014

2014 is over, but here’s to beautiful memories and new beginnings.

Looking back at 2014 is really crazy for me just because it’s hard to believe so much has happened in such a short time.

I’m one of those people that gets super stressed and tightly-wounded when I’m uncomfortable or anxious, but after everything’s said and done, I just forget about it. I think for that reason, it’s always hard for me to reflect because I just don’t care anymore.

But 2014 was a crazy year, and we are reflecting on it. And as a group, we’ve decided to make our own Top 10 lists for 2014.

Topics?

Anything.

None of my lists are in any particular order, so we’ll just dive right in. My first list is of my “Top 10 Experiences from 2014″.

1. September 12 – One Direction Concert

I didn’t really like One Direction when they first become popular. I didn’t really even know who they were. (I was in middle school; what did I know?) Anyway, this concert was one of the best experiences of my life. It was like my entire life had been leading up to this moment, and I had the greatest time of my life. They only used half the stadium, and we were a lot closer than we thought we’d be. I just wish I could do it again.

2. March 1 – my first paycheck

I feel like such a grownup because of my first job. It’s at a tutoring center so it’s not a “teenager job”, like waitressing or something. It’s become one of my favorite things now, because I tutor elementary kids. It’s so rewarding and I absolutely love it. I love the money a little more, though. 😉

3. June 17 – Theriault feedback on my blog

David Theriault is one of the coolest, weirdest people, but when it comes to teaching and sharing, he has a way of making everyone and everything seem revolutionary and important. I’ve never thought of myself as a particularly good writer or blogger or thought-sharer(??), but his comments on my blog were so phenomenal and I felt like the biggest winner in the world.

4. June 28-July 17 – Mediterranean Traditions

I went on a 19-day trip to Spain, France, and Italy with 40 other students in my area. The whole thing felt so surreal; need I say more?

5. May 13 – Caskett’s almost wedding

I don’t know about you, but I had been waiting for Castle and Beckett to get married since in the first time I watched the show. And they completely ruined the wedding for me. I felt like the first attempt would have sufficed: Beckett’s new dress was perfect, all the guests were there, it was all planned and wonderful. Then they set Castle’s car on fire, and didn’t even explain where he was for 2 months. It was insufficient, but enjoyed the first wedding while it lasted.

6. (I don’t know the date for this one!) – Andrew Belle

The first time I heard Andrew Belle was in the Castle prom episode, then I officially heard him on iTunes radio and now I can safely say that he’s one of my favorite artists ever. I don’t know how I lived so long without his talents. It’s just really exciting when I hear him on TV because Grey’s Anatomy uses a lot of his songs, and it gives me butterflies.

7. December 4 – Dan+Shay tickets

I remember when I first heard 19 You+Me on the radio. I was like, “This is great song! I wonder who it’s by?” And now, I just get so overwhelmed when I talk about them. I think they’re just so talented and deserve all the success and happiness in the world. And I can’t wait to hear them live.

8. May 25 – Moro Rock, Sequoia National Park

I don’t know if I’ve talked about how much my dad LOVES nature and hiking and stuff like that, but Memorial Weekend, we went to Sequoia National Park. Now, I’m not really afraid of heights, or maybe I am, I’m not really sure. But Moro Rock is this super high, super dangerous hike that goes up 300 feet. That might not seem like a lot, but when you’re a tiny 5-ft tall person, it’s rEALLY HIGH. I was being a really stubborn person, so my dad and I stayed where all the old people were about 2/3 of the way up, while my mom and brother went up to the top. We waited for maybe half and hour, and when they came down, they were like, “It was so amazing. You have to go up. You have to go up,” and my dad kept insisting too. Finally, I agreed and we started walking up, my hands tingling the entire time. But man, we got up there and the view was amazing. It was so great.

9. September 28 – Susan G Komen Walk for Breast Cancer

My dad had a cancer four and two years ago, and ever since then, he’s been really supportive of cancer research and treatment. So every year, we do the Walk for Breast Cancer. This time, he raised, I think, $5,000, which was quite the achievement and I’m super proud of him. I was with my mom the whole time and even though it was tiring, it was still super fun and fulfilling.

10. February 13 – Demi Lovato concert

I’ve talked about this so many, many times, but I never get tired of it. My best friend and I saw Little Mix, Fifth Harmony, and Demi Lovato, all three of who are such great artists. Demi has always been an idol of mine, just because of everything she’s been through and how in touch she is with her roots, her fans, and herself. It’s really important, I think, to understand your own feelings and needs. But I don’t think this night was really about that. No, this night was about the music. It was the first time I realized music could mean something. I was the first time I cried listening to it. It was the first time that something felt bigger than I could handle. It was the first of many first times.

One thought on “The Best of 2014

Leave a Reply

