The Little Prince [SPOILER]

WARNING: CONTAINS SPOILERS!!!

©digipam on Flickr
©digipam on Flickr

A few weeks ago, I blogged about my list of book resolutions for this year, and I’ve been sticking to it. I’ve read about three books on the list, but today I want to share my thought on The Little Prince by Antoine de Saint-Exupéry. The book itself was a short read as I finished it in about three or four hours, but it left me feeling soo many things. After I finished reading it, I went on goodreads.com to see what other people thought about the book. I didn’t want to read them before I had finished reading the book because I thought that if I did, I would get preconceived notions that would make my connection with the book be a little biased.

Annyyywayyy, I finished the book and the prince has gone back to his planet. I was talking to my sister about the book a few weeks later, and she told me her interpretation that she thought that the prince had died. This was similar to a goodreads review I saw, which at the time that I read it, I had thought nothing of it, but now that it was brought up again…

I found myself thinking about her interpretation for a good while after our conversation had ended, and suddenly found myself finding evidence to support her claim, even though I didn’t personally believe that the Prince had died. I became overwhelmed by the notion that this prince, whom I thought represented the epitome of innocence and wisdom, was dead. I decided that despite the different interpretations, the Prince’s wisdom was not dead in my eyes.

A few years back, my mom had owned the French version of this book and seeing my eyeing it curiously, she told me that if I ever get a chance, I should read this book as a child and as an adult. I never got to read it when I was younger, but now that I’ve read it, I could still see the Prince’s innocence through his stories of his travels throughout the universe.

Leave a Reply

