A Chocolate Miracle, But Still a Tragedy.

So two days ago, I decided that I didn’t like the taste of Hershey’s Kisses anymore, but I also had a giant 56oz. bag that was 3/4 of the way finished. I didn’t know how else I could get rid of, but I caught myself thinking “Kit Kat is just a wafer wrapped in chocolate”. Then, as if a light bulb literally flashed above my head, an idea popped up in my mind. Since I already had some animal crackers, I could create the most marvelous combination ever: an animal-cracker-Hersheys-kisses sandwich!!

Photo ©2009 by meddygarnet [C.C.-by-2.0]
Photo ©2009 by meddygarnet [C.C.-by-2.0]
 Feeling adventurous, I dipped my hands into the opening of the container of animal crackers and fished out two pieces. Trying as delicately as I could, I stuck the Hershey’s Kisses in between the two crackers, but then I came to a stop. The Hershey’s Kisses were pointy at the top, with the whole piece bearing a shape like a water droplet so it was hard to make a sandwich. I had to improvise, but how?

I sat in my chair for a good two minutes, racking my brain, which has 16 years of experience, to find a way to make this cracker-chocolate sandwich happen. Unfortunately, I had nothing. Placing the crackers and chocolate down, I slumbered over to my couch to brood more about this possibility that came so close to being a reality. When nothing else came to mind, I gave a silent sigh in my head, willing to just risk it with the one other method that came to mind. I would have to … *shudders* … to just throw it all in.

And so I did. Half-expecting disappointment, my world stopped when my teeth chomped down on both the chocolate and the cracker at the same time, and the rush of flavor was like a dam bursting. My mouth was filled with chocolatey goodness and then sabotaged by a crunchy, dry taste that came with the animal crackers. Amazed at my own discovery, I tested another one, just to make sure that this magical combination was something real. It was. I immediately ran to tell my sister of my discovery, only to realize that I had ran out of Hershey’s Kisses. “Wasn’t there 1/4 of the bag left?” I asked myself. Then it came to me that the time I had “measured” how full the bag was was about a week ago, and with my brother using the Kisses as his main go-to for snacks, it was a miracle in itself that the bag had lasted this long.

And so ends my fateful collision with probably the most genius invention I had ever came up with. Until next week, delicious friend.

-Duchess

Leave a Reply

