Back on Track

Photo ©2011 by Walt Stoneburger [C.C.-by-2.0]
Photo ©2011 by Walt Stoneburner [C.C.-by-2.0]
“Read everything.”

My English teacher repeated the phrase after our class looked over previous AP Language and Composition essay prompts and realized that they were asking for our opinion about certain issues. I had always loved to read but I haven’t been reading much since the beginning of 2015 mainly because I was always procrastinating my homework so I never made time for reading. However, after hearing my teacher repeat “Read everything” again, I realized it was about time I picked up one of my favorite pastimes again.

It was a little weird reading in my free time instead of going on YouTube or watching a movie. I started finding short stories to read and along the way, stumbling across J.D. Salinger’s A Perfect Day for Bananafish. I then moved on to reading news articles with the Flipboard app on my computer. A large part of what motivated me to read was seeing my sister read. When I was in middle school, I read a lot because I had free time and nothing else to do. Meanwhile, my sister was busy with schoolwork and afterschool volunteering that she once asked me how I had free time to read. I just thought “How can you not have time to read” and went back to my book. Now that I’m busier (and lazier), I found it amazing that my sister, who is probably way more busy than me, has time to read Vanity Fair. I hustled to Google some books and that led me to having about four or five books in my iBooks library. I’m just starting out reading In Cold Blood by Truman Capote after seeing it on many “Stories that will keep you awake at night” lists. I think it’s going to take a while to finish the book with AP Exams season coming up in May but my goal is to finish this book before July 31.

Another goal I’d like to add is to write more. Writing not only helps me improve the process of transferring words from brain to paper but also helps me sort out my thoughts. Sometimes when I start writing, I don’t even know if what I was feeling is anger or hunger or something but most of the time when I stop writing, I’m just sitting there looking at what I wrote and then I realize what I was feeling. I think it may sound confusing so I guess what I’m trying to say “JUST WRITE”. Seriously, just do it. Even if you don’t know what to do, write that and let the words guide you. Many of my journal entries have started with “I don’t know what to write” and the next thing I know, I’ve filled two pages. “Read everything”, write everything.

– Duchess

P.S. The picture is from Walt Stoneburner’s Flickr page. Check him out!

Leave a Reply

