A Hypocrite’s Guide to Not Wasting Time

If time is money, then I have wasted a lot of money.  credits to David Michalczuk on Flickr
If time is money, then I have wasted a lot of money. credits to David Michalczuk on Flickr

If you’re reading this, you honestly probably have better things to do that would be more productive, but you’re already more than halfway through this sentence so too late.

Disclaimer: I am probably the most unqualified person to be giving tips on how not to waste time.  Like this would be the equivalent of a criminal telling you how not to break the law.  But if you think about it, most criminals probably have a reasonably thorough understanding of the law, they just choose to break it.  Similarly, I have a pretty solid grasp on the concept of time management, I just choose to use it very little.

So here’s a list of a bunch of things you should not do if you want to use your time wisely.  (Incidentally, it’s pretty much a list of things I’ve done this weekend.)

Don’t think that you have time to finish something later.  You don’t.  And even if you did, you know that you’re not gonna do it until the very last possible second so you might as well get it out of the way now.  Plus, it leaves room for error.  And believe me, I need a lot of room.

Don’t sleep so late.  You’re gonna wake up past the time when normal people eat breakfast, you’re gonna eat lunch at the wrong hour, and then you’re gonna wanna take it easy for the next couple hours because I mean, come on, you just woke up, and boom it’s 8 o’clock and it’s dark outside and you’re just gonna spend the rest of the night thinking about how your life is a mess rather than get anything done.

Don’t forget to prioritize.  If something’s due online or requires the computer, do that first. Because it’s easy to finish worksheets in the car, but hard to type up an essay.  Getting ahead on other stuff (like sleep) may feel good at the time, but it’s not going to help you when you realize in the middle of second period that you forgot to do your history homework.

Don’t start a new TV series.  This one’s mostly for me.  I DON’T CARE HOW GOOD IT IS JUST DON’T DO IT.

Until next episode,

Mad Hatter

One thought on “A Hypocrite’s Guide to Not Wasting Time

  1. That sounds like my weekend haha. To be honest, I write the best blog posts when I do something I know I should and hope to ward others away from doing the same. And wow, which TV show did you start? (I started Carmilla… Jeez it’s short but addicting and overly cute…)

    Like

Leave a Reply

